Personal Injury Marketing: Tennessee Targets Uninsured Drivers
The Tennessee statehouse is acting to throw the book at uninsured drivers in new laws effective July 1 of this year. Tennessee drivers without adequate insurance will face class A misdemeanor charges in a new move that involves bipartisan sponsorship of public chapter 479, characterized as a response to a fatal accidents involving uninsured drivers throughout the state.
Professionals with connections to the state insurance industry, including doctors, lawyers and personal injury marketing teams will be keeping an eye on how Tennessee law seeks to protect state residents from dangers on the road.
Realities on Tennessee Roads
In the past, Tennessee has suffered from a high percentage of uninsured drivers within the state. News coverage from WBIR Channel 10 in 2011 showed that Tennessee’s rate of 24% uninsured drivers towers over national numbers, where uninsured drivers represent about one in seven vehicle operators or around 14%.
In previous Tennessee law, driving without insurance was classified a class C misdemeanor which often only involved a fine of around $100. Re-classifying this criminal offense means that uninsured drivers may pay up to $2500 and face up to nearly one year of jail time. It may also mean that many more of these drivers are arrested on site when stopped by Tennessee patrolling officers.
Safety Groups and Responses
Consumer advocacy groups have called the move “a step in the right direction” for the state of Tennessee. Lowering the rate of uninsured drivers can cut down on the types of personal injuries and fatal accidents that threaten local communities.
These kinds of legal changes can also have an impact on the jobs of chiropractor offices, personal injury marketing teams or any other job roles that are impacted by a state auto insurance industry. Legal details can have a profound influence on how car accident injury victims get compensation for care, which can change how they seek care and how they are guided through a bodily injury claim process. Ideally, every resolved claim provides the car accident injury victim with what he or she needs to recover and rebuild toward his or her prior lifestyle and quality of life. Realistically, though, many of these claimants face challenges, including problems involving getting the money needed for adequate care and treatment. State officials have a responsibility to try to fit appropriate values into auto insurance industry rules to help cover regular costs. Each state also has its own strategy to control a litigation process that has become troublesome to state economies. All of this has a lot of consequences for those who suffer from a car accident injury. Drivers can get more information about Tennessee law at the state’s Insurance Commissioner’s Office.
This entry was posted on Saturday, July 27th, 2013 at 3:16 pm
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed.
Posted in: Personal Injury Telemarketing Blog